Lock 24 is located in Mountain Locks Park, a large park that has so many distinct areas to explore that its possible to miss this particular landmark. A small clearing has been made in the center of the park to showcase the original location of Lock 24 of the First Welland Canal. The lock was uncovered during an archaeological dig conducted in 1987, and the current display has marked the site ever since.
Lock 24 gives us a unique opportunity to see how locks from the First Welland Canal, built in 1824-1829, were constructed. Most of the original locks have been destroyed with only three known to remain. The other two are located in Centennial Gardens(downtown St. Catharines) and Lakeside Park (Port Dalhousie). Lock 24 survived because it was immediately turned into a secondary water channel and incorporated into the Second Welland Canal when it started operation in 1845. Evidence of this channel can still be seen in the forest near the historical plaque, west of the clearing.
From Hwy 406:
Exit Hwy 406 at Glendale Ave. Travel east on Glendale approximately 600 meters until reaching Merritt St. Turn right onto Merritt St and continue for approximately 400 meters. A hidden driveway on the right hand side (between 183 and 185 Merritt St.) gives access to Mountain Locks Park. Limited parking is available on the grass at the top of the driveway.
Mountain Locks Park
183 Merritt St.
St. Catharines, Ontario